.

Poll: Do you Agree With Council's 'H-Zone' Decision?

Council members each said they'd vote down the ordinance next week; what do you think?

The village council listed a wide range of concerns it had with the expansion proposal Tuesday night, .

Although opponents hailed the move at the RHS Campus Center as protecting Ridgewood from , , and even possible damage to hundreds of homes, speakers and supporters said the council may be relegating Valley Hospital to second-class status.

In today's competitive healthcare climate, some argued, second-class is dead on arrival.

Speakers at the podium said over time, talent will leave, the facilities will continue to age and like dozens before it, the hospital may turn insolvent. The last minute appeal for further 'compromise' by Valley CEO Audrey Meyers did little to turn the tide.

With the vote, the status of Valley's expansion efforts going forward is unclear. The must specifically state from a land use perspective why the planning board amendment is inconsistent with the Master Plan.

A future council, however, could pick it up, Village Attorney Matt Rogers has previously said.

Some have speculated lawsuits are on the way. The hospital has made no mention of lawsuits – with Valley Attorney Chuck Collins denying the hospital has considered pursuing legal action against the village in an interview with Patch in October.

Its opponents, Concerned Residents of Ridgewood (CRR), are investigating whether it can shut a door on efforts, Chairman Pete McKenna said. It has a pending lawsuit against the planning board.

[Editor's note: There's evidence suggesting the poll was tampered with electronically; it was closed early Thursday evening.]

Gregory November 23, 2011 at 05:38 PM
Sorry James but the results poll can be manipulated by anyone including myself which makes it useless in my opinion. Know that it is presented as a 'best efforts' attempt with a disclaimer but it's really about who has the most time to rig. The issue is overdevelopment in a residential and school zone without any other course explored and undertaken by Valley that would address their want list and those facts arent going away. For disclosure, I think the Village Council did the absolutely right thing last night and am much more optimistic about the future of this village today.
Michael Sedon November 23, 2011 at 06:59 PM
Amazingly 83,000 Ridgewood residents fully support the Valley expansion.
Dominick Nizza November 23, 2011 at 08:33 PM
Mike, where did you get the "83,000 Ridgewood residents number"? The Council's vote was only a safe haven vote.
Dominick Nizza November 23, 2011 at 08:54 PM
Interesting that each Council member had well-prepared statements to put on the record before they even heard all the comments from the public. It's not over folks.
Jack Nies November 23, 2011 at 09:34 PM
dom, sounds like the PB meeting, except the VC actually queried the experts about the negative impacts of the project and listened to residents' views instead of rubberstamping plans. The last PB was in bed with Valley. There was no question of that. Pfund pfu**ed the town over.
Marcia Ringel November 23, 2011 at 10:14 PM
Good one, Mike! You're so much fun now that you work elsewhere and merely live here!
Gregory November 23, 2011 at 10:17 PM
Mike was being sarcastic and this Council had heard all the expert testimony it needed as Jack states below. Good for all that they ended this charade before Thanksgiving. Valley can now go back to the drawing board knowing that Pascack will most likely reopen.
Dominick Nizza November 23, 2011 at 10:24 PM
A close examination of the voting poll suggests we still have a divided community opinion. A revised plan, in my opinion, will be submitted soon and the conversation will continue.
Gregory November 23, 2011 at 10:53 PM
A close examination of what poll? This one? Really Dom, even then really not that simplistic since numbers dont account for the issue on a stand alone basis and the level of emotional investment. This isnt as much about resident vs resident as it is resident agaisnt a overreaching corporation . Been in local government and the role is to recognize and address the discontent of residents especially on a questionable issue even if they represent only faction of population. Most town issues dont evoke strong feelings but sympathies. With all due respect. I dont think anyone expects Valley to just slink away. They will continue to lobby as always and make revisions but hopefully for all including themselves they have a bit more vision and planning to fullfill their goals to be a regional hospital
Vincent Romeo November 24, 2011 at 12:28 AM
Dominick, where the hell have you been the last 5 years ? It was approx. 5 years of public comment. Valley's argument was full of holes and I am relieved that the Council saw through the smoke and mirrors.
Vincent Romeo November 24, 2011 at 12:34 AM
They can revise all they want. The bottom line is---- They cannot exceed the original footprint and that is all that matters. Of course there will be new meetings and more public opinions. Could be years longer.
Vincent Romeo November 24, 2011 at 01:36 AM
The planning board had too many ties to the hospital. Pfund should have had the decency to step down as a matter of ethics when the CRR research showed the ties he and his father have with the hospital. My faith and appreciation for this village has been restored with the council.
Gregory November 24, 2011 at 06:12 AM
This 'poll' just had over 225 votes for Valley Expansion registered in the last hour after midight. As I mentioned to James if he cant monitor its integrity and its rigging then he shouldnt run it even with a disclaimer as it misleads and unecessarily stirs. Ill now go to bed. Happy Thanksgiving to all
Dominick Nizza November 24, 2011 at 12:57 PM
The Council's vote will be flying with all the Air balloons in the Macy Day Parade and be scrapped at Election time.
Gregory November 24, 2011 at 02:02 PM
Fraudelent activity after midnight with 225 votes hitting in minutes. That fraud gets one charged in a real election, here it just gets Valley stooges further ridiculed. Desperados
Dominick Nizza November 24, 2011 at 02:30 PM
Each vote counted here is from an individual person's e-mail address. It may not be too perfect but, by Editor's controlled supervision, is quite reflective.
maureen November 24, 2011 at 02:49 PM
I am exceedingly thankful to the Council for voting for maintaining the integrity of our Village and the safety and welfare of my children. I offer any dissenters to take a ride at 3pm to the intersection on Linwood and Van Dien, it is an eye-opening nightmare.
Gregory November 24, 2011 at 03:08 PM
You may or may not be aware of use of internet bot that can hundreds of votes in minutes that circumvent like occured last night in a span of minutes. If the site and some its posters want to remain credibilty then fraud shouldnt be accepted when it is pointed out. If you think that 225 people suddenly went to their computer at the same time after midnight last night to vote then what more can be said to you Sorry Dom, enjoy your Thanksgiving
Zigi P November 24, 2011 at 04:36 PM
I took a poll of kids coming up to my house at halloween. 113% of them said they didnt want valley to expand. My 113% beats valley's 60-whatever they had, so my poll wins. Neeners. Thats the level of maturity that Valley took in presenting its poll numbers; I see no reason to do otherwise. Regarding future elections..only need 2 against to keep Valley at bay.
Steve Holder November 24, 2011 at 06:34 PM
There are only 8,000 or so addresses in Ridgewood so that number is silly. Would be interesting to know these two numbers.. 1. What percentage of people that have used Valley Hospital (the Van Dien site :)) in the past year are Ridgewood residents. and 2. What percentage of the employees live in Ridgewood and work at that site.
Terri Genovese November 24, 2011 at 06:47 PM
Dominick, Yes the council clearly had their minds made up before this meeting. But this is a result of reading all of the planning board hearing minutes as well as listening to all of the "experts' testimony over the past few months. Nothing they heard, including Audrey's last minute offer to "compromise' although not on size but only on construction items, was going to sway them because they realized the Planning Board was so wrong. They clearly made the right decision.
Andrea Aluisi November 24, 2011 at 07:47 PM
As a health care professional, a resident of Ridgewood and in the interest of transparency, one who has worked at Valley for the last 13 years, I am saddened over the council vote and can't help but feel it was based on emtionalism and not fact. Today's modern healthcare facility takes into account larger equipment, patient privacy and the elimination of healthcare associated infections through strategically placed handwashing sinks and single patient rooms. Renewal would have assured that all of these issues were addressed completely. As the top notched healthcare facility Valley is, and one I am very prouid to work at, Valley will continue to provide the best care to its patients. However that said, as newer procedures conitue to emerge it seems it will now be difficult for Valley to keep abreast from an environment viewpoint. It is also sad to me that the citizens of Ridgewood do not see the need to have a state-of -the -art medical facility in its reach. This is something I believe Valley should think long and hard about as it makes its future plans.
Zigi P November 24, 2011 at 08:02 PM
Andrea, no one is saying that Valley should not modernize. The council vote is NOT against valley modernizing. Its against building paramus park mall next to BF. They can modernize with the envelope that they are in now. How about reducing the number of beds by 1/2? then the space they have now should suffice.
Dan Johnson November 24, 2011 at 08:55 PM
Exactly. Bigger is not always better. The Valley plan is to make the hospital bigger and to make it better at the same time. But why just make it better in its current footprint. What doesn't fit can be in another building in a place that it fits. As I have said many times, Valley can move the Village can't.
jane shinozuka November 24, 2011 at 08:56 PM
I agree with Maureen McTigue. I'd also like to add that being concerned about the every day repercussions of the "Renewal", in its initial configuration, does not make someone an unsophisticated Luddite who doesn't understand business theory. By the same logic, Valley aspiring to grow its business shouldn't necessarily warrant vilification. Politicizing the debate is irresponsible and divisive and has hurt the Ridgewood community. Quite simply, not every valuable idea is a feasible reality. People would welcome single patient rooms and better technology if presented in a plan offering less detriment to residents (especially homeowners) of Ridgewood. Such a plan may not be optimally profitable for Valley Hospital, but Valley's optimal profitability is not (and should not be) Ridgewood's primary concern.
Steve November 25, 2011 at 02:32 AM
This "poll" does absolutely nothing but incite people's anger and continue to keep people at each other's throats. It is ridiculous and, frankly, James, I'm disspointed that you'd even put this up. I realize it brings people back to your website time and time again (great for your advertisers) but, really, can't you take the high road on this one?
Michael Sedon November 25, 2011 at 04:15 PM
Trust me I know full well that there are only just over 24,000 actual Ridgewood residents. I wrote that because the last poll on this site was corrupted some how and the results were something ridiculous like 24,000 Ridgewood residents supported the expansion, which is obviously not the case. Marcia picked up what I was putting down. Sometimes you just have to break the tension.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »