.

Your Questions Needed for New Ridgewood-Glen Rock Patch Column

We're introducing a new weekly column for locals looking for solutions to community problems and issues – from public nuisances to eye-sores to local mysteries.

Have you ever wondered why Glen Rock (pop. 11,601) has two train lines, Ridgewood graduation features dresses-and-tuxes but not gowns-and-caps, or why the village has non-partisan elections?

You're not the only one, and we're going to help answer some of those lingering questions you have. But your help is needed!

You Ask, Patch Answers is a new weekly column for locals curious about community problems or issues.

Everything from who exactly cleans the grafitti on the sides of buildings; to why some parking tickets are $19, yet others $29; to what led Glen Rock from separating from Ridgewood nearly 100 years ago; or even what it takes for a small mom & pop business on Rock Road or East Ridgewood Ave. to thrive, versus tank, as many seem to do.

How long does it take for the average business to open in Ridgewood? Why are you responsible for maintaining your sidewalks and clearing the snow when the town once did all that? Who/what is responsible for the littering and drainage issues at the Ackerman Ave. underpass? Why does Screamers still have a banner up at Rock Road when they've long since left?

If you've got a question about something in Ridgewood-Glen Rock, send it to james.kleimann@patch.com. We'll do our best to give answers and opinions about the big problems and try to help solve the small ones. 

So what are you waiting for? E-mail us and check back every Monday for You Ask, Ridgewood-Glen Rock Patch Answers.

Have a question or news tip? Contact editor James Kleimann at James.Kleimann@patch.com, or find us on Facebook and Twitter. For news straight to your inbox every morning, sign up for our daily newsletter.

James Kleimann July 09, 2012 at 03:19 PM
I've gotten a few e-mails from people who want to know the origins of why the RHS graduation is white dresses and tuxes. Any others?
JAFO July 10, 2012 at 12:00 PM
There's a great book with these types of questions and answers about NYC called "The Works: Anatomy of a City". Definitely check it out.
Ron Verdicchio July 10, 2012 at 02:34 PM
The tuxedo and the white dress were very symbolic of WASP America. In particular, the tux was said to have originated as the preferred dinner dress at functions in Tuxedo Park, NY thus the tuxedo. In the 1920s and 1930's many of the large NYC high schools held promenades(proms) as a graduation ceremony. Since many if not most of the graduates were male and recent immigrants, a tux was worn to symbolize the transition to "American" society in effect Americanizing the immigrants. The RHS class of 1896 had two graduates: one male and one female. The female wore a white dress and the male wore a dress jacket of some kind. The class of 1923, a much larger class, had similar dress. So James, the research questions to pose are: what RHS graduating class was the first to wear white dresses for women and tuxes for men and why the change from dressy, to formal wear? The pictures that I cite can be found in the 100 anniversary of ridgewood high school directory published by the Ridgewood Education Foundation.
News Man July 10, 2012 at 03:57 PM
Ron Verdicchio, thank you for your excellent "answer" in the Opinion/Question Column. The WASP America Tuxedo Park, NY historical note reminded me of my many trips up Route 17 in the late 1940s (when my wife Mary and I traveled by car through-out NY. Mary was a History, Latin, English, and French HS teacher and always enjoyed traveling by car and just going places with those large Hagstrom Maps. Sometimes working with an answer first, provides us with a question to be posed. Thank you for this little trip down memory lane from this last living 90 year old original owner in the "Ridgewood Lawns".
James Jr. July 10, 2012 at 06:25 PM
Where/when did the "Maroons" mascot of the sports teams and high school come from?
Ann Marie July 10, 2012 at 06:53 PM
The story I always heard about the "Maroons" was that we were the RIdgewood Rockets, but at some point changed divisions and there already was a 'rockets' team in the new divison, so since our colors were maroon and white -- we became the Maroons. (I gess even then being the 'Whites' wouldn't have been politically correct.)
News Man July 10, 2012 at 08:55 PM
Question for our research guys and gals. Did Ridgewood ever have its own airport and where was it?
Ron Verdicchio July 10, 2012 at 10:11 PM
Yes. You are sitting on it.
Laura O July 12, 2012 at 02:53 PM
On Lincoln Ave there is a 208 overpass that used to be lined with flags. They took the flags down a month ago. Why were there flags, why did they take them down?
jp1 July 16, 2012 at 05:50 PM
How about enforcement of zoning laws?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something